Scenes

…from an Italian restaurant.  I rarely do dinner on a first date, but I did tonight with The Singer.  She was the second of the three girls that canceled last Tuesday, so I shall adjust my counter once again since we successfully rescheduled.  The Singer is my second Tinder date.

We got there at the same time and she was even cuter than her pictures.  I liked her from the start.  I gave her a hug and we went inside.  We got a table in the back, and since it was Sunday night it was fairly quiet and empty.  Perfect.  I felt a bit more relaxed, comfortable, and in charge of my words than I was on the last few dates I went on.

This actually happened to be the same place where I’d gone on my first date ever.  But at that time we were just high schoolers getting pizza and soda.  This time it was a sit-down dinner, and the place had been completely remodeled so it was almost like being there for the first time.  And I dare say this date went much better than that one.  If you remember that post, you’ll know what I mean.

Anyway, The Singer is a music teacher, an operatic singer, and a choral director.  We had plenty to talk about with our combined musical backgrounds.  And then I found out we share a mutual love of waterfowl.  Major bonus points.  I know what we’re doing on our second date.  If there is a second date.  While things seemed to go pretty well, I feel like I already know how this is going to end, which is the way it always seems to end:  I’ll get in touch with her in a day or two about a second date and I’ll get the usual “Well, I had a fun time and you’re a really nice guy, but…”

Sigh.  But we’ll see.  I could be wrong.  I’ll know soon enough.

In the meantime I’ve been keeping in touch with The Comedian.  I don’t feel any particular attraction to her and I’m not sure what else to talk about either.  So I don’t think this is going anywhere.  However I have a new prospect who just gave me her number on OKC, so I’ll contact her tomorrow and see what happens.

First dates:  34
Second dates:  3
Third dates:  2
Cancellations:  9
Stood up:  2
First kisses: 2

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Scenes

  1. She sounds lovely, fingers crossed for you!

  2. Nothing wrong with contact a few days later, but if a date went well, I really like hearing from him the day after. Depending when the date is, later that day even. It just gives more of a feeling that you’re interested, in my opinion, texting the day after and not waiting days.

    • In the past I was told that contacting her too soon after a date comes off as eager and desperate.

      • Maybe, if she wasn’t into it. If she was, waiting too long let’s her think you weren’t. I’m not saying change your waiting period, I’m just glad the guys I’ve gone out with text the following day. I think long as your follow up text isn’t sounding desperate you should be good (a casual hey you, how’s it goin’ is usually good).

    • I agree with supergirl2000! If I like a guy, I prefer him to text me the next day or even the day of if the date was during the day and he texts me 4-5 hours later. But if I don’t like the guy it doesn’t matter when he texts me…

    • Agreed with everyone else about not caring when a guy follows up with me again if I’m not into him but liking when a guy follows up by the next day if I liked him.

      If I am attracted to a guy/decently interested, it doesn’t matter when they text. I’ve had a really attractive, cool guy I met at a party text me right after I left saying he wanted to see me again, and I liked that he direct and confident. It was unexpected. I don’t always feel that way though. If a guy bombards me with texts before I’ve gotten the chance to respond, then I just lose all interest. I had a guy I met randomly ask for my number and continuously call and text me minutes later when I was busy with my friends- it was actually really creepy and came off desperate.

      Don’t do the 2 or 3 day wait rule. I’d like to hear from the guy by the next day if the date went well and I was into him. Saying something simple like “hey, last night was fun!” and maybe suggesting to meet up again is fine.

  3. Singer, awesome.

    Regarding the comedian. I know you said you may not be attracted. I say if there’s even a little bit, then go for it. Getting along with a woman is a great thing. It’s hard to find a perfect combination of looks and personality. And we’re not looking for The One you’ll marry. We’re looking for one you’ll date a bit and have sex with so you can change the name of this blog.

    I don’t know what you mean by being in touch with the comedian. Just ask her out. And get the experience of a second date.

    Any decent places with pool tables near you? I like pool in the first few dates. You’re moving around, it’s fun. You don’t have to think of what to talk about as much because you have an activity to talk about. It’s not just you looking at each other, interviewing each other.

  4. F. P. Grimm

    Whoooo doggie! Got some fine momentum going. Atta boy, Lad!!!

Leave a Reply

