Music

Music is my escape.  When I’m playing, I’m lost in my own little world.  No worries or thoughts can get in (not that I have many worries).  But I’ve been spending a lot of time practicing lately.  I’ve been fiddling for two, three, even four hours a day for the past couple of months, and when that’s done I’ll slip on my headphones and sit behind the drum kit for another hour or so.  By the time I finally emerge from my music room, I’m shocked to see how much time has passed.

I went to my first Irish music session over the weekend.  I’ve heard about them, I’ve seen them on YouTube, but I’d never seen one in the flesh.  They were very welcoming.  One guy offered me a mic for my fiddle, but I waved him off.  I just wanted to take a backseat, take it all in, see how things worked.  Despite all my hours of practice, there were precious few tunes I could play up to speed, and I only managed to jump in on a couple here and there.  It was a nerve-wracking experience.  I’d played open mics before, but I’d never played with other musicians before.  Some of these guys had been playing for 20, 30, even 40 years and could riff on anything in any key.  I felt like a kid at the adult’s table.

12746291_1671657313086851_593005618_n

The attendees and the pub patrons were largely of an older crowd.  There was one girl about my age playing in the group but she slipped away at the end before I got a chance to talk to her, and the next music session won’t be for another two months.   But I’m keeping true to my word to get out and start doing (even) more things and maybe I’ll meet someone that way, although right now that isn’t my express purpose for doing so.  At the moment I’m just focused on the music.  I’m also joining up with the local traditional music orchestra, although that only meets once a month and the next rehearsal won’t be until May.  Well, at least that’ll give me more time to practice.  It’s been eons since I’ve done an open mic or any kind of performance, and I’m keen to get back out there and get my feet wet again.

In other news, I’m still plugging away on Tinder.  I’ve gotten almost 70 matches so far. With all these matches, shouldn’t I have more than one date to show for it by now? A half-dozen turned out to be fakes.  Two girls either deleted their profiles or unmatched us while I was in the middle of setting up a date with them.  Most of my matches I’ve succeeded in starting conversations with, experimenting with different openings, but the majority of them ended up going nowhere.   I guess I still need to get the hang of Tinder.  But I’ll save that for my next post.  I’m screenshotting all my convos on there and I’ll include some of them in my next post.

Stay tuned.

8 thoughts on “Music

Leave a Reply

