Mystery

I happened past Teacher’s dance studio the other night, and what I saw took me aback and left my mouth agape.  I parked and got out for a closer look.  Were my eyes deceiving me?

They weren’t.  The studio had been stripped bare and there was a For Rent sign in the window.

What the fuck.

Not at all what I was expecting to see.  If anything, I was expecting to see construction work.  Teacher emailed us a few weeks prior, informing us that classes were suspended for the time being.  The town found problems with the building, the landlord had been fined for violations, and work was starting right away.  She said she’d keep us updated on the progress.

Well, this was something worth updating us about.  But we heard nothing.  Then again, I wasn’t surprised.  Teacher is a notoriously lousy communicator.  My niece used to go to this dance school and her parents remarked about what a flake Teacher is.  I’ve consulted with the other girls in the class and they’ve noted the same thing.  Sometimes we’d show up for class and find out it was canceled at the last minute.  Other times we’d show up for class and find the studio dark and locked up, with no notice given at all.  I don’t understand that.  This is your livelihood; how can you be so lackadaisical about communicating with your students?

It pissed me off even further because we were supposed to dance at a gig the weekend after she emailed us about the building problems.  I wrote back asking whether we were still doing the show, even offering to borrow my other dance group’s practice space so we’d have a place to rehearse.  No response.  Another girl in the class reached out to Teacher about the show, and she got no response either.  So we talked among ourselves and decided to just go ahead and do the show without her, but it ended up being canceled due to a surprise snowstorm.

But the abandoned studio takes the cake.  I sent her another email three days ago:  “So I just happened past the studio and noticed a For Rent sign in the window…??”  No response.  I finally shared my discovery with the other girls in the class, and they were shocked too.

However, when I left the empty studio that night, I drove past her building and noticed a “Now Leasing” sign on it.  Yes, I know what building she lives in.  I even know which apartment.  Not because I’m a crazy stalker (although I am crazy good at discovering that kind of information – as some of you can attest 😉 ).  No, she told me exactly where she lived, but I don’t believe that it was a hint of any kind.

Anyway, if I had to guess I’d say she had further problems with the landlord so she’s looking for a new location, and she gave up her apartment to save money in the meantime.  Hopefully we’ll finally hear some news from her in the next week or two.  I hope there’s nothing seriously wrong.  And I hope I won’t be kicking myself for not making a move when I had the chance.  I’m still confident that I could have pulled it off.

When I told Slutty Blonde the story, she said that Teacher probably skipped town because of me.  Har har.

And speaking of whom – coming up next is the story of how I met another one of my fellow bloggers!

Stay tuned.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Mystery

  1. sluttyblonde

    Well I’m certainly looking forward to hearing about this blogger you met… ;P

  2. sluttyblonde

    But yeah, she totally skipped town. She thinks you’re a stalker

  3. xanaxic

    Sounds like her problems were financial. If both her studio space and apartment went up for rent, chances are she was not paying the bills.

  4. Teacher was never gonna happen for you….get to this Slutty Blonde blogger! 😀

  5. eoylus

    I think the word mystery is a good metaphor for my lack of understanding most women, who are generally stereotypically emotionally driven and tend to not be upfront in their communication style.

  6. F. P. Grimm

    Has there yet been any resolutionof this oddity, lad?

  7. Pingback: Dead | The Unfortunate Virgin Male

Leave a Reply

