Snow

I had set a date with the girl I mentioned at the end of my last blog post. Let’s call her Marine Girl, because she was very much into marine life. In fact, we were into a lot of same things and really hitting it off. A few great emails and phone conversations later and we were all set to go. Then she sent me a message the night before we were supposed to meet:

“I’m sorry to reply so late in the hour but something’s come up tomorrow with family and I’m no longer going to be available to hang out. I’ll get back to you when would be a better time. Sorry again to cancel short notice.”

It’s been over a week since then and I haven’t heard a whisper from her. Nor do I expect to. Damn.  I was really excited about meeting her, and I thought she was too. Don’t know why she flaked out at the last minute like that.

 

Onto the next one. Let’s call her Kinky. Pretty self-explanatory. We talked for a week before I suggested we meet. I decided to go for something more formal than I usually do for a first date. I named a restaurant near her and asked if she’d like to go.

“Yeah… no. Somebody got beaten and sodomized in one of the bathrooms there. It’s become a preference of mine that my first dates not take place anywhere someone had been previously sodomized… sorry if that’s a deal breaker.”

Wow. Okay, so maybe that place was no good after all. But I couldn’t tell whether she was being funny or passive-aggressive with that remark. I decided to let that one slide. So I suggested another restaurant in her area.

“If you don’t mind I’d rather go to a different one. My ex’s parents frequent that place, along with some other people I don’t like.”

Tricky customer, eh? I suggested another place.

“Oh no… I’ve been there before and found the food to be pretty gross.”

[Sigh] Well, you know your area better than I do. What would you suggest?

“Well, I don’t have a car, so I’m pretty limited in where I can go.”

Now she tells me. I only knew of one other place before I’d have to resort to Google, but that wasn’t any good either:

“Sorry, that’s a little too far for me.”

I finally asked her where’d she like to go, and she didn’t care for that.

“Seriously? Do I have to plan the whole date?”

Jesus Christ, really? I pointed out that I was making an effort to do just that, but she was shooting down every one of my suggestions.

“Well, you’ll just have to come up with something. You’re the guy.”

While this whole back and forth was taking place, I’d managed to find her on Facebook. I started scrolling through her photos and suddenly I came across shots of her protesting and holding up placards for “Womyn’s Rights.” Oh, hell no. Not another feminist. I’m not going down that road again. So between that and her sudden attitude, I told her I was going to pass on the date. She replied with “whatever” and that was the end of the conversation. Phew. I think I really dodged a bullet with that one.

Back to the drawing board.

I started up another round of messaging and got replies from half of them so far.  Some of the others have yet to read my messages, so I may get more replies yet.  I’m making more of an effort to properly vet these girls, and I have a handful that appear fairly serious and non-flaky. In fact, I’m pleased to report that I have three new dates lined up for this week!

Look for an update after the Fourth.  🙂

 

First dates:  7
Second dates:  0
Cancellations:  2

17 thoughts on “Snow

  1. I feel like she was a Catfish…otherwise YES….you dodged an incredibly HIGH-MAINTENANCE bullet there. Jeez. What an ungrateful beast she was… Also: If she doesn’t have a car I hope you live in Europe. If you’re from the U.S. raise your standards. …she needs a car.

  2. That girl does sound like a stupid cunt, but to ward off all women just because they care about women’s rights is about the dumbest fucking thing I’ve ever read. Furthermore I find it hilariously ironic that she claims to want equality, but then expects you to do everything. That’s not real feminism. You should probably not ward off women who just want equality though, because that just makes you a misogynist prick…

    • I don’t ward them off for wanting equality. I ward them off because I don’t want to worry about being chastised for using wrong words/phrases or for not using gender-neutral language, like I have been in the past. Obviously not all feminists are like that, but if she has an issue with the spelling of “women” then I can only imagine how things would have played out. Especially since she was already giving me an attitude this early on because I couldn’t come up with a first date suggestion she wouldn’t shoot down. Anyway. And it might have been helpful to read the post that I linked to before commenting. Otherwise it makes you sound ridiculous.

      • So true. It’s one thing to say “I think all women should be barefoot and pregnant”, but it’s another entirely to just want to have a conversation where you don’t have to watch every word that comes out of your mouth.

        Also; “you’re the guy?” Lol…and your point is? What happened to equality? Agree that you dodged a bullet. She probably would’ve wanted you to pay for the entire date, too!

  3. “Well, you’ll just have to come up with something. You’re the guy.”

    Here we have it ladies – the proof in the pudding that a lot of you expect not to have to make any effort on a date. I agree with other posters, you dodged a bullet.

    I’ve been away on a first holiday with Mirror Image so I’m catching up with your blog 🙂

  4. Well hello, high-maintenance Kinky! In terms of the planning, I know too many women like her. They’re very picky, so when the guy finally suggests going where SHE wants, she feels like he’s not “being a man.” Women need to check their alpha at the door if they expect the man to take charge.

Leave a Reply

