Talks

https://i0.wp.com/openclipart.org/image/800px/svg_to_png/183631/communication.png

I’m on a roll now.  I landed another date this past Monday night.  We messaged for a few days before I asked her out.  We literally met on the border of NYC, making it the furthest I’ve had to travel yet.  I wasn’t sure what to expect.  We hadn’t said all that much in our messages, and when we spoke on the phone she didn’t sound particularly enthused.  But I was pleasantly surprised when we met.  She turned out to be very talkative and energetic.

In fact, she turned out to be a little too talkative.  I don’t like feeling like I have to compete for airtime in a conversation.  She’s one of those people that hears keywords and pipes up excitedly, “Oh, speaking of such-and-such, did I tell you about the time I blah blah blah…”  Then she’s off and running with a new topic while I’m silently grousing that I never got to finish my story.  But I’ve dealt with much worse than her, so I shrugged it off.  I still had an enjoyable time.  She seemed like she was having a good time, too.  Several times I had her slumped over with laughter.

We were on the ubiquitous coffee date for an hour and a half.  By the end of it I wasn’t sure yet what I thought of her, but I thought there was potential.  I would have asked for a second date, but things ended so quickly I didn’t have time to gather my thoughts.  She kinda walked me outside while asking how long it would take me to get back home.  She lived around the corner and since it was dark and getting late I asked if she’d like a ride, but she declined my offer.  Then she gave me a hug and set off at a trot, and that was that.  All that happened in the space of a minute and a half.  I was a bit taken aback by this abrupt conclusion.

Fifteen minutes I called her from the gas station I was filling up at.  I wanted to make sure she got home all right, and I wanted to see if she was interested in seeing me again.  I pointed out that she left rather suddenly and she explained that was because the coffee place we were at starting the closing-up process.  (Which they were, but it was still 9:30 and they closed at ten – they weren’t exactly rushing us out.)  Hmm.  And when I asked whether she’d want to see me again she was just like, “Well…” That hesitation pretty much answered my question.  But she said we could still talk and maybe set up another date.

And as of this writing we are still talking.  So we’ll see.  But I won’t be too cut up about it either way.  I have other irons in the fire.  In fact I’ve just set up another date with another girl for this Saturday.  This one is in Brooklyn, so I’ll have to venture even further into NYC this time.  I haven’t checked the subway map yet, but hopefully I won’t have to take the F line.  I’ve had the pleasure of riding it before and the F may as well stand for Fucked.

However, none of these girls compare to the PYT I’ve been talking to for the past few weeks.   The conversation took an especially hot and heavy turn since then, but sadly we can’t meet right away.  It’s killing me, but for now I’m willing to wait because I feel it’ll be worth it.  We talk almost every single day in the meantime.  Our last phone conversation felt like only twenty minutes but actually lasted over an hour.  And that’s impressive because I loathe phone conversations, especially since I’m notorious for long pauses and awkward silences.  There’s been none of that with her, though.  Awesome.

So that’s the latest.  I don’t know what’s going on but I’m on fire these days!

Stay tuned.

 

First dates:  4
Second dates:  0

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Talks

  1. Yeah you are on fire !! whoop whoop…. Euphoria is the feeling I am guessing. Best feeling in the world. Astrid 🙂

  2. PYT? I’m not down with your lingo

  3. Chin Up, Chest High!

    Fantastic! Whatever it is you are doing, keep doing it because you are definitely getting some great feedback.

    Don’t worry about the chatter – you will often find that they are quite self-centred. I went on a date with a girl last March-April who was a real chatterbox. She was very sweet and interesting and I asked to see her again. She didn’t respond but when I thought about it later I realised that I had learnt so much about her but she’d barely asked about me and when she did she wasn’t really listening. No great loss though.

    Good luck with the ongoing adventures!

  4. Sounds like you’re definitely on a roll! Excited to hear about Brooklyn girl. Hope it goes well today!

  5. Pingback: Honk | The Unfortunate Virgin Male

  6. Pingback: PYT | The Unfortunate Virgin Male

  7. Pingback: Java | The Unfortunate Virgin Male

Leave a Reply

