Hands

Image

A last-minute change of plans postponed our date to Sunday afternoon, along with a change of venue. I suggested a local nature preserve and she was game. Once again, I was impressed – I know very few people who would be into that sort of thing.

She looked even better in person. Photos did not capture the intensity of her eyes, and she rarely lifted her gaze from me. (Perhaps I looked better in person too?) And normally I’m a fast walker with a “slow-walking people need to GTFO of my way” mentality, but she was in no rush whatsoever. We ambled along so slowly we were nearly at a standstill, except for the moments she wobbled off-balance because I had her in gales of laughter.

I figured we’d be there for an hour-and-a-half at most, but we stayed for nearly three. We had great conversation and lots of laughs, and when it came time to finally part we just stood there grinning stupidly at each other. We arranged a second date right after we both said we’d like to see each other again. Then we went our separate ways. I may or may not have turned a cartwheel once she was out of sight.

Three days later she canceled our second date.

She said she hated to do it, but school threw her a curve ball and now she’s going to be really busy with a project that just came up. So we’ll have to postpone our second date for a couple of weeks. I’m not sure whether I believe this. To be fair, she did warn me that her schedule as a grad student doesn’t give her much free time (she’s in school 35 hours a week). But I can’t help feeling that I’m getting the brush-off. I haven’t responded to her message yet. I’d like to think that we’ll indeed have our second date, but only time will tell.  I’m not going to worry about it, though.  In the meantime I’m going to try to line up some more dates, especially now that I seem to be on a roll.

In other news, it took two-and-a-half weeks but I’ve finally put Crush out of my mind, and a good thing that is.

 

First dates:  3
Second dates:  0

14 thoughts on “Hands

  1. The chemistry sounded good and when you parted, you guys should probably have kissed. But don’t beat yourself up about not doing it.

    So we’ll have to postpone our second date for a couple of weeks. I’m not sure whether I believe this.

    It’s hard not to be cynical, I know, especially with the experiences you have had recently (been there myself when I started dating a couple of years ago). However, I had the postponement several times and every time they did come back to rearrange.

    I wouldn’t ignore her message though. RESPOND ASAP and tell her that you are disappointed but understand, and that you really would like to see her again. If you don’t, she’s going to think that you are not interested. Pursue her, make your interest known.

    • I’m definitely going to respond, I just wasn’t sure what to say exactly. But then what? I don’t want to bombard her with messages until she wants to meet again, but I don’t want to have radio silence until then either.

      • Just one message. Finish it off with “Look forward to hearing from you”. If she wants to meet again, she’ll make the effort.

        In the meantime, keep contacting other people.

  2. I didn’t realize you were such a romantic.
    Very nice job on the date planning- whimsical for sure

  3. So happy it went well! Just play it cool for now. Maybe send her a casual ‘hey, what’s up?’ in 2 weeks if you haven’t heard from her at all. I know it’s tough to wait so long after such a great first date.. but sometimes good things are worth the wait. 🙂

  4. Definitely respond! Say you had a great time and you’re looking forward to getting together again! And text maybe once a week to check in and see how she is till she says she’s available!

  5. Hello, you are receiving this message because you are one of five writers that have been nominated by me for a Leibster Blog Award.

    Your blog came to mind when I was looking to pass it on because I’ve enjoyed your posts in the past and I knew I’d have fun reading your responses. If you decide not to participate no worries….I will continue to be a follower!

    My post, questions, and information on the award can be found at:
    http://winterinnyc.com/2014/05/19/i-may-be-single-but-my-_-_-_-_-is-a-catch/

    Have fun!

    WinterInNYC

Leave a Reply

