Date

Image

 

I’ve got a hot date this weekend. Let’s call her Country Girl.  Last week I messaged her on OKC and a few days later she wrote me a nice, lengthy response. Not only did she like me and my profile, but she decided to forego all the messaging-back-and-forth bullshit and asked me outright if I wanted to meet this weekend. Her straight-forwardness and initiative deeply impressed me (ladies, take note). We messaged, we spoke, and we’re on for this weekend.  Two dates in one month – a new record for me.

This happened so fast that I haven’t had time to be nervous.  In the meantime I took another look at her profile and I noticed something very interesting. OKC has a sidebar listing “Similar users” and there was Crush. How funny is that? I had been lamenting whether I’d ever find someone else like her… well, according to OKC, I may have done just that.

Aside from those two, I have other news to report on OKC:

1) Lazy Girl
I commented on something in her profile and that earned me a response. But not only does she lack the ability to form complete sentences, she can’t form complete words either. She’s 32 and she writes like she’s 16. Her last message to me read thus: “hbu? so wut do u do again im too lazy to go back n look at your pro.” With that I lost any remaining interest, and consigned her to languish in Inbox Limbo. Nonetheless she keeps messaging me “Hi” as if prompting me to write back again.

2) Finds Me Super Hot
She messaged to tell me this and everything else she liked about me. I checked out her profile and I can’t say I feel the same about her. I haven’t decided what to do with this one yet. She’s also 32.

3) “Hey there”
This was her opening message to me. In the past I’ve ignored ones like these, but lately I’ve decided to entertain them. And doing so has only confirmed what I already knew, and that is that I’m going to have to make all the effort in the conversation. I’d asked her about something in my last message, and not only did she not answer my question but she responded with “How was your day?’ Sigh.  Just a reminder of why I don’t bother with these types.

4) Incoming message!
I literally got a new message as I’m writing this. This might be from someone else I’ve contacted – let me go read it and see.

But all right! This is more like it!

Stay tuned.

 

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Date

  1. I’m glad you’ve got some interest happening 🙂 You deserve it after all the drama!

  2. Failure to grasp the English language is a huge turn off. Hope your date goes well!

  3. rasanchize

    I HATE when people constantly use shorthand and write like they are incapable of life. Good luck on the date! can’t wait to hear about it

  4. Chin Up, Chest High!

    Her straight-forwardness and initiative deeply impressed me (ladies, take note).

    I second that. I had some great dates with women who were forward enough to message me first. I might not have messaged them ordinarily, maybe if I thought they wouldn’t respond or their profiles didn’t push my buttons – but a killer first message from them intrigued me enough to want to meet them.

    Fantastic! Don’t get your hopes up about Country Girl but I wish you the best of luck with it. Let us know how it goes.

  5. I hope that you have a great date!

  6. I’ve been straight-forward with many men before, but it seems to scare them away. Maybe I’m just a little too direct. Anyways, good luck with your date!

Leave a Reply

