Activity

I’ve logged into OKC sporadically since the beginning of the year, and it’s been that long since I’ve messaged anyone. Honestly, it would be much easier to start conversations if girls wrote a little more besides “message me if you want to know more” or “just get to know me.” This seems be a growing trend on the site. It’s getting harder to find a decent profile I can really sink my teeth into.

Then you have the girls that write “I’m not going to bother filling this out because nobody reads these things anyway they just look at your pictures.” I don’t understand this. Aren’t you aiming for the guys that do read your profile?  But instead you’re just going to settle for the ones that only message you because of your pictures? That makes absolutely no sense to me.

This isn’t to say I haven’t gotten a few nibbles on my own profile. Three messages came in from three different girls:

First one said “hey” and nothing else. I didn’t bother writing back.

Second one said, “so what do u do for a living?” Between the grammar fail and the profile-reading fail, I gave this one a pass too.

Third one said “hey there, handsome…” This one I responded to, of course:

“If I didn’t know any better, I’d say you were hitting on me!” I got a “lol” in response to that. I wasn’t sure where to go from there, and I got the impression she didn’t have much else to say either.  And that was that.

So that’s it for the OKC roundup. However, I do have a couple of girls that keep showing up in my visitors list over and over again. Neither one has messaged me yet, and I have a rather distinctive profile picture so I highly doubt they are clicking on me by accident. I was wondering what anyone makes of this?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Activity

  1. Chin Up, Chest High!

    This seems be a growing trend on the site. It’s getting harder to find a decent profile I can really sink my teeth into.

    They’re there, you just have to keep looking. Those women are not doing themselves any favours whatsoever – and clearly most think they can / should get by on their looks. They do themselves and us a disservice.

    Aren’t you aiming for the guys that do read your profile? But instead you’re just going to settle for the ones that only message you because of your pictures?

    Precisely. This is how screwed up it all is and how women fail to understand that they will get the right attention by writing a decent profile and leaving out the “I like going out, staying in… my family means the world to me. I am a independant women blah blah blah”. I mean seriously, is that really so hard to understand?

    Keep plugging away!

    • Chin Up, Chest High!

      As for those who keep looking at your profile, I have had that too. One gave me a 5 star rating. I messaged her about a year ago but she never replied. Yet still she looked at my profile every week for the next few months. There are some strange people about

    • Chin Up, Chest High!

      Me too! And through perseverance I’ve found plenty 🙂

  2. My 2 cents…
    I used to do that too, looking at profiles more than once without sending messages. It basically was my way of “showing up”. I didn’t want to message guys myself, as a girl I preferred to be sought after, so I made sure they would see my profile and they could message me if they were interested. But I never overdid it, I would show up 2 or 3 times tops, then I would quit. If they visit your profile once a day for weeks it’s just creepy…

    • Chin Up, Chest High!

      I didn’t want to message guys myself, as a girl I preferred to be sought after,

      Why not message men? This is the 21st century – your dream man isn’t going to drop into your lap. You have a lot of competition online, more than in real life arguably, and you have to stand out against the competition. Women who make the effort to message men usually get on a lot better with online dating than women who don’t send messages.

      Some women I have been out with I might never have messaged first and probably wouldn’t have met at all if they hadn’t messaged me first. So, it is appreciated!

      • Oh I did message them too!
        I agree with being proactive, but it’s sadly also true that men in my country can be rather traditional.
        This was just one of the strategies I tried, and it did work quite well a few times. It’s pretty stupid, but I especially did this if I suspected the guy in question looked sort of “out of my league”. Not being noticed was better for my self esteem than having my messages utterly ignored. 😉

        • Chin Up, Chest High!

          t’s pretty stupid, but I especially did this if I suspected the guy in question looked sort of “out of my league”

          See, it works! I’ve had major self-esteem issues most of my life too and I took a chance many a time on messaging women I thought were out of my league. The result? I got dates and potential relationships (though sadly none of them worked out) with some truly amazing, intelligent and beautiful women.

          I suppose it is also different for men, we are used to being ignored. My average response rate was 1 for every ten women I messaged and I feel I have done rather well out of it (working on a potential LDR for the last few months so I’m not messaging anyone).

          Best of luck with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

