V-Day

The V-Day Invasion

Because nothing says “I love you” like some Burger King coupons.

Anyway…

I’m sorry, but I don’t subscribe to Valentine’s Day. It has nothing to do with me being single. I’ve always felt this way, including that one time I was in a quasi-serious relationship. I’m not necessarily opposed to the idea, but what really bothers me is how a lot of women turn it into a big deal: “Valentine’s Day is really important! Don’t screw it up, guys!” You know what? Everyday is Valentine’s Day, just like every day is Mother’s Day, and Father’s Day, and Grandparent’s Day… Okay, if you want to do cute little things – fine. But to act like it’s the end of the world if I don’t? Then you are ridiculous.

If nothing else, Valentine’s Day is just bordering on nauseating nowadays. I was in Wal-Mart with a friend today and I couldn’t get over the droves of people panic-buying V-Day merchandise. It was like the day before Christmas. My friend nudged me and pointed to a bin of lurid pink fuchsia teddy bears the size of dishwashers.

“Too bad you don’t have a girlfriend you have to buy one of these for,” he said.

I snorted. “If I had a girlfriend who needed one of these, then I wouldn’t be going out with her.”

That pretty much sums up my feelings about the whole thing.

5 Comments

February 14, 2013 · 5:31 PM

5 responses to “V-Day

  1. impossibletodate

    Had to Laugh….
    “If I had a girlfriend who needed one of these, then I wouldn’t be going out with her.”

  2. I used to hate Valentines with an intensity that can only be described as pathologic. The minute I would see red hearts and cupids at the mall, I would feel like going berserk, ripping everything off and trashing up the whole darned place. I would declare a moratorium on romantic movies and lovesongs and dating shows, just on principle. I was like the Grinch of Valentine’s Day.

    I felt that this effing society of ours had (has) no respect for unattached persons, as if the only way one can validate oneself is to be paired with someone.

    I still can’t get Valentines. My feelings towards it are tepid at best.

  3. Reblogged this on The Unfortunate Virgin Male and commented:

    Thought I’d share an old post that sums up my feelings about Valentine’s Day…

  4. “Too bad you don’t have a girlfriend you have to buy one of these for,” he said.

    I snorted. “If I had a girlfriend who needed one of these, then I wouldn’t be going out with her.”

    Nice come back man! I think it’s kind of a nice idea, but even if I even do get into a relationship I don’t see myself making all that much of a fuss about it!

Leave a Reply

